IPA jelly time

So I’ve bought you Kriek curd in the past, now I’m going to bring you IPA jelly!

I decided to boil down a bottle of IPA with some sugar to make a sugar syrup.  The result was very malty with a hop hit at the end. I mused over what I could do with this sugar syrup and thought about making jelly babies.  I didn’t have the mould or all of the ingredients needed so I just experimented and ended up with jelly.

I’d like to try this with single hop varieties to see if the differences are clear, or with fruit beers maybe even a gose.

Mine were cubes as I just used a silicone ice cube tray.  I had a thought on the bus this morning though and you could put it into beer glasses with some whipped cream on top to form a head.

IPA jelly

Ingredients

1 bottle of IPA
200g caster sugar
3 gelatine leaves
250ml water
Juice of half an orange or lemon

Boil down the bottle of IPA with the caster sugar, stir often and it’s ready when it turns into a thick syrup.  Decant into a tub and leave to cool.

Once cooled put the gelatine leaves in a bowl of cold water for 5 mins until soft.

Add the cooled syrup to a pan of 250ml water, gelatine leaves and juice. Heat on a low heat and stir continuously for 5-10 mins.

Once the gelatine has dissolved put into your chosen mould and leave in the fridge for 4-5 hours.

image

Next up stout fudge.

Leave a Reply

