Happy Ølekalender

Advent

It’s the 1st of December which means I can finally start unwrapping my advent calendar beers from To Øl. Hooray.

I was thinking about putting one together myself this year until To Øl stuck one on their webshop, I believe I was the first to order it (to be honest I was checking the website quite regularly for it to appear). They arrived all wrapped up in tissue paper so I couldn’t see what they were and even though I am incredibly impatient and have for the last 2 weeks contemplated peeking at them I have been very good and left them alone.

This has made Christmas exciting again, I’ve always found it to be a bit of a let down as an adult. I think making my own would have no anticipation or excitement when I come to open it every day so I’m pleased I took the plunge and bought one. The plan is to unwrap the bottle each morning, stick it in the fridge and then it’ll be ready to drink when I get home from work and I can dream about it all day.

I’m going to update this blog every day with information and my reaction to the beers I get behind every number.

On the first day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

… one bottle of Sun Dancer

sund1

It’s a low ABV to kick off with which is handy as the average ABV in my fridge had reached a terrifying 10%.  It’s got a floral nose and a bitter sweet crisp finish, I imagine this would be lovelier in the sunshine but it is going well with my curry.

image

On the second day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

……a bottle of Hop Love Pils

Another summery beer. I think To Øl might be doing us a favour here by not giving us Christmas beer fatigue too early. This is a pilsner hopped with mosaic and simcoe I think and is part of their sessions range. Hopefully we’ll get some dark christmassy beers soon and a few more of the sessions range will pop up to break down the heavyness.

It pours Amber and is well carbonated. Taste is peachy and long lasting. Nice and crisp and easily drinkable, going very nicely with, you guessed it, leftover curry from last night. Shame I only have one as it is moorish. Guess I’ll have to dip into the 10% fridge of doom.

On the third day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

….. A bottle of Eurodancer
image

Upon opening this I started throwing some shapes in my living room pretending I was in a club in Berlin dancing to cheesey eurobeat. After reading the blurb on their website it appears that was the right reaction.

The other reaction I had was to have the words “hold me closer Eurodancer” in my head all day. If I could hold this beer closer all night I would, it’s a fantastic American Pale Ale exploding with centennial, galaxy, simcoe and citra hops. It tastes of orange, peach but with a honey/biscuit finish which may be from the melanoidin malt. The initial taste reminds me of Magic Rock’s Cannonball. It’s the stronger sequel to Summer dancer at 6.5%. Thoroughly enjoying this one. The balance of flavours is spot on.

Would go well with The Macarena after a few.

On the fourth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

….. A bottle of Nelson Survin

nelson

It’s Friday and I have a feeling To Øl had worked that out when compiling this advent calendar as they’ve given us a 9% Sour Nelson Sauvin DIPA to celebrate with. Wallop, ‘ave that sunshine!

I love nelson and I love sours and I love DIPA’s so I guess I’m going to really love this.  I’m a big fan of their Sur Citra so hoping this is along the same lines (and hoping for a Sur Citra at some point). I’m out tonight celebrating workmates’ professional exam passes so will try to get home at a reasonable time and in a reasonable state to enjoy this to the max.  Should have bought it with me really!

I’ve been reading descriptions of this beer all day and it sounds like a proper banger.  Tart, tangy, mango, pineapple, passionfruit, lemon, juicy and boozy have all been used.  I’m at danger of disappointing myself by getting too hyped about this beer before I drink it but i’m sure it won’t let me down.

Will be back later to let you know if it has lived up to my hype.

Update

I’m back after only having one pint due to the fact I’ve become one of those twats that doesn’t see the point in drinking something unless I’m enjoying the taste of it.

I can safely say I am enjoying the taste of tonight’s calendar beer. It’s malty then tart and then the Nelson hop’s grape notes shine through. There’s also a little tickle of pineapple at the end. Very impressed with all the beers so far.

On the fifth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

… ONE LIQUID CONFIDENTIAAAAAL

Wish it was five. I was predicting this beer as the fifth one last night. The ABV has been rising (this is 12.2%) and the bottle was slightly bigger than usual. Just call me mystic meg.
image

Liquid confidential is a big imperial stout made with ancho, guajillo and chipotle chillies which gives it a light smokey undertone and not the harsh holy shit my mouth is on fire feeling you get with most chilli beers . It is then aged in rum barrels which adds a spiced boozy note to the beer which is initially liquorice in quality. It’s ideal for warming you up whilst Storm Desmond rages on outside. It feels very grown up but still a bit of a dude.

Goes well with The Big Lebowski

I sense a pattern here. Predicting the ABV to plummet tomorrow and to slowly rise again until beer 11 as its also slightly bigger.

on the sixth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

…. A bottle of frost bite
image

We are a quarter of the way through and we get our first Christmas themed beer, a 6% pale ale brewed with orange peel and pine needles. I think it’s more of an IPA myself. It’s incredibly marmaladey and has a very bitter pine finish. Would go well with an armchair after you’ve lugged home the Christmas tree.

I personally don’t lug home a real tree as I can’t imagine why you’d get a real one when you can get a fake one that means you don’t have to deal with the shedding crap everyday. Plus I hate the smell of pine. This beer smells a bit like one of those car air fresheners but the orange peel is saving the taste.

On the seventh day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

…. A bottle of Maj Pilsner
image

This is a pilsner hopped with Tettnanger, Mosaic and Amarillo. It is at first citrussy but this quickly makes way for a peppery finish. It’s light and refreshing but feels thicker in your mouth to normal pilsners and I don’t think it will last in my glass for long. Would go well with a pad thai or some fat salty chips fresh from the chippy down the road. Mmmm chips.

On the eighth and ninth days of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Fuck Art this is Architecture and a Sofa King Pale

image

I’m double parked tonight as I had my office Christmas do last night. Cheeky names aside these are both solid offerings and also at 5% and 4.7% respectively they are not a bad pair to be double parked on.

The first is a Belgian bretted table beer. You can smell the trademark farmyard whiff of the Brett a mile off and the taste is heavy on the horseblanket. Luckily I happen to like Brett. For those not in the know. Brett (Brettanomyces) is a strain of wild yeast which can be introduced to a beer to give it “funky” flavours although sometimes it gets in by accident and seen as a defect. This has a great musty Brett hit but also a slight banana hint at the end. It’s not going to be for everyone but I like it. I imagine it’d be nice with some brie.

The second is from their already mentioned sessions range. It’s a pale ale hopped with tettnanger, simcoe and citra. It’s large on the pine notes but with blood orange and pineapple thrown in. It’s very easy to drink which is its main aim really. Goes well with your sofa and some sport on the tv.

On the tenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

… A bottle of snowball saison

image

This is very crisp and refreshing and as the bottle states you can drink it whilst you wait for summer to come. It’s peppery from the saison yeast but there’s no Brett coming through which is probably because this bottle is too young for it to develop. Buy one and leave it for a while to funk up. I’ve absolutely demolished my bottle and just read it’s 8%, dangerously easy to drink this one.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

Another bottle of Liquid Confidence

Hooray. I think this one is the non-barrel aged version. I am out tonight saying farewell to a couple who are off out of this country on adventures (good luck Dan and Catriona) so won’t be drinking the advent beer tonight. Unless I fancy it when I get in which is quite likely as that 12.2% shitbag will be whispering and winking at me the filthy tease. So might be here later with sensational, garbled tasting notes, might not.

I was too tired to drink the Liquid Confidence and will fit it in tomorrow somehow.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

…a bottle of Sur Simcoe
image

I’m excited about this as I bloody loved Sur Citra, their single hopped sour. It’s defo up there as one of my highest rated beers of the year. This is nice but not quite got the edge of Citra. Commendable but just not quite as good.

On the thirteenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Reparationsbajeren

We are halfway through and after a day of Christmas pub crawling yesterday this is the perfect beer to get in the calendar. It’s a pale ale with punchy American and NZ hops designed as a recovery beer. It’s easy going and although I don’t get hangovers, I’m thankful it’s not a rich, strong number as I’m getting a bit of beer fatigue. Much better than any recovery green smoothie bullshit.

On the fourteenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

… A bottle of Sur Yule
image

I’m dreaming of a sour Christmas. Yum. Another great alternative to the traditional overspiced Christmas beers. A lovely tart cherry sour with a light sherbert like feel. Goes well with wrapping presents.

On the fifthteenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

…a bottle of Markedspils

Was a bit disappointed when I opened this one. It’s very similar to the two pilsners I’ve already had. Hop profile is slightly different as the tettnanger is coming through more but this coupled with a stressful day means I’m very unenthused. It’s an alright beer, could just do with something more exciting today.

On the sixteenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Music Non Stop Techno Pop
image

I’m in a funny mood this evening. I may, possibly, be exchanging on a house I m buying tomorrow so I’m really happy but also on the edge of my seat expecting some stupid shit to go down and for it all to go to pot. A bit similar to how I feel about this beer. Initially the taste is lovely, citrus, pineapple and marmalade but then I get a horrible mango aftertaste which I don’t like and it’s yet another pilsner which I’m guessing contains mosaic. I need some variety! Still it’s named after a Kraftwerk song so swings and roundabouts.

On the seventeenth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Cloud 9 Wit

We’ve exchanged, hooray. Let’s celebrate with a light, refreshing wit beer brewed with mango and orange peel. Lovely stuff and went really well with my fish dinner.

On the eighteenth and nineteenth days of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Jule Maelk and a bottle of Hardcore Maelk

Both of these sound amazing. The first is a heavely lactosed Christmas milk stout and the second is a black milk IPA collab with Brewdog aged in scotch barrels. Sadly I cannot drink either of these due to the lactose so in the spirit of Christmas I have given them to my lovely friend Emmy who is the biggest milk stout fan I know. I treated myself to a Double Axe from Buxton instead.

On the twentieth day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Mikropolis
image

This was brewed to be a house pilsner for a cocktail bar and uses Curacao Orange peel to keep with the cocktail bar theme. It has a lovely orange hit at first followed by a bitter citrus hop finish. I like it a lot.

on the twenty first day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A Mocchacino Messiah

image

I can’t drink this due to the dreaded lactose again but the other half relished the chance. He said it was very roasty, smooth but not overly bitter. It really smells of coffee and he is very much enjoying it. I treated myself to a Vocation Naughty and Nice instead.

on the twenty second day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Stalin’s Organ

image

This is a California Common, it’s a lot hoppier than usual and has an undercurrent of smoke on the finish. Not sure I could drink too many of them but it is interesting.

on the twenty third day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of LikeWeisse

image

I’ve had this beer before and couldn’t believe how much flavour it had for a 3.8%. It’s definitely one that can be enjoyed all day long. It’s incredibly juicy with grapefruit and lime bit not too sour with a slight breadyness. Lovely one to start off my Christmas drinking with.

On the twenty fourth vand final day of Christmas my To Øl Ølekalender gave to me…

A bottle of Shameless Santa

This is a big 750ml bottle of a 10% Belgian red ale. I’m going to put it away and have it as my Christmas dinner beer next year.

Looking back this advent calendar has been pretty good quality. Had a few missed bottles due to my lactose intolerance and maybe a few too many pilsners for my liking but other than that it’s been great. Would definitely recommend this if they sell it again next year.

Leave a Reply

