New Fashioned

oldfashioned

I’ve started attending the homebrew club at Water into Beer in Brockley.  It’s a great little group with a good mix of experience plus you get a discount on any ingredients you buy whilst you’re there. If you’re lucky, Olly the Brockley cat will saunter in and show you who’s boss. It’s held on the first Sunday of every month, come join us.

The challenge for April was to brew a rye beer which I’ve never done before.  I’ve had a few rye beers recently that are trying to imitate the cocktail Old Fashioned (Namely Tempest’s Old Fashioned and Brooklyn’s Improved Old Fashioned, both, quite frankly, bloody delicious).  I’m a huge fan of Old Fashioneds, it’s my go to cocktail if I have one.  So I decide I want to give it a go. I wanted smoked rye to get a little peaty note in but couldn’t get any so went with roasted rye instead.  I added the rice hulls to avoid a stuck mash which I was very nervous about but the day went surprisingly well.

I did a 10 litre batch

1,730g pale rye malt
500g Rye malt
160g Carared
110g Crystal malt
110g Melanoiden malt
35g Roasted rye
125g rice hulls

15g Amarillo 20 mins
10g Amarillo 15 mins

US05 yeast to ferment
50g bourbon oak chunks and zest of 2 oranges added for last 2 days

The OG for this was 1.061 and it finished off at 1.010 so came out about 6.6%.

I am so happy with how this has turned out.  It’s kind of desserty, the vanilla in the oak has really shone through.  I did want to add angastora bitters but I just wasn’t sure how much and it was tasting so nice I didn’t want to risk ruining it. Sad I only made 10 litres.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Fashioned

Leave a Reply

